Cuttleblog Day 3

Last night, I noticed Laz clinging to the front side of the breeder net, where a few mysid shrimp had accumulated outside the net, between the net and the glass. There are definitely some mysids in there with him, but I’m worried that they aren’t enough. I tried netting some of the rogue mysids with a dip net, but they’re either too fast, or too small and the net not fine enough. I’ve already tried using a soda bottle with some fish food in it, but all I caught were snails. So last night, at 10 pm I drive to the grocery store and bought a turkey baster, and since it was my one and only purchase, definitely got me a weird look from the cashier. I’m not great at it, and I’m only catching like one mysid at a time, but it’s working. I think I may just need to improve my technique.

I think Lazarus is eating, but I haven’t directly observed him. He looks visibly bigger. I also think I saw movement in one of the 3 remaining eggs last night.

EDIT: EVENING UPDATES

Tonight when I got home from work I went to another aquarium shop across town, that sells copepods. I was hoping for the big, Tigger pods which are sold in little pre-packaged bottles and kept in the fridge. Unfortunately, all they had were microscopic ‘pods that I am assured were in the bag I bought that was totally not just a tiny bag of saltwater. Oh well, at a $1 an ounce, maybe it’ll start some pods growing in my tank that aren’t in there already. I also grabbed some more chaeto algae (thinking maybe I can lure the mysids into that) and a “bristle worm trap” which I thought might work to catch more mysids or amphipods. This morning, I ordered 100 mysids to supplement what I’ve been grabbing out of the tank, so they should be here Thursday.

I’m going to venture to say now that Lazarus is definitely bigger. I’m 80% sure it isn’t my imagination. I still haven’t actually seen him eat anything, but tonight I saw him move, by himself, which was a first. And I managed to record it on my phone. I don’t think he likes me staring at him, so maybe he prefers eating in solitude. I think I’m also seeing dead pod carcasses on the bottom of the net. A good sign. Not much else going on with the eggs tonight, I occasionally think I see fleeting glimpses of something, but not sure.

Here’s the video I took:

Leave a Reply

