#TinyTankChallenge–Ethan

Hey guys! My #tinytankchallenge project is going to be a 2.5 gallon “pico reef” tank. I haven’t completely decided on what I’m stocking it with yet (probably some zoas and frags from my big tank which won’t cost me anything), but I just ordered most of my equipment, so I thought I’d get things rolling with that.

 

I had a $50 Amazon gift card from my birthday, so I’ve technically only spent ~$40, however, for fairness sake, total so far is $68.48 US dollars. I didn’t need to buy a lid, since the tank came with one, nor substrate, since I already had a bag of crushed coral lying around. (I’m not counting that anyway, because lots of people like bare-bottomed reef tanks, so this was optional). CXehKVeUAAA0usSI also have a small powerhead handy I may use, depending on how powerful that little filter is. For live rock (which will be doing most of my filtering, I have a bunch of small chunks I can scavenge from the big tank, but I may buy one nice piece from the local shop, which will probably put me right at the $100 mark.

I went with the 25 watt heater, even though it’s about 3X what I actually need because I’ve had good luck with that brand and didn’t want to chance an off-brand, pre-set betta heater, which is basically what all 10 watt aquarium heaters are. Funny, probably a better chance of cooking your tank with one of those than a decent thermostat controlled heater at a higher wattage.

I chose the filter I did because of the thin build. A lot of people use Aquaclear filters because they add the most water volume, but they’re significantly more expensive, around $40 or $50 and I’m really just using it for some chaeto algae. The reviews on this filter were generally good (quiet) and since it’s going on a desk in an office, I liked that the pump was internal and the external case is one solid piece so there’s no chance of a leak. I may have to mod the pump to slow it down by removing one or two of the impeller blades.

There really isn’t room for a fish in this tank, besides maybe a small goby, but I’ll probably have some micro-brittle stars, snails and such. Maybe an emerald crab.

One thought on “#TinyTankChallenge–Ethan

  1. So after reading your challenge, I was so excited to jump in! I had a 5 gallon my daughter used to run with heater and hob filter. I took a string of 5 leds from a not-in-use 55 and glued them to hood. I purchased a bag of floramax and was very excited to make a planted aquarium for my challenge! Purchasing several plants, the bag of substrate and a male betta put me at $98.50! I should have done more research into what plants would do well because the rotala bushes have died already and I’m expecting the dwarf hair grass and cardinalis also to go, but the rosette sword and bacopa are looking great. Thank you for one inspiration and posting this challenge! I’ve gotten a few of my friends to do the challenge as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

