#TinyTankChallenge – Brian Update #1


The tank is filled, the filter’s pumping, and the hardscape is all in!

IMG_7722

To start, I tested the filter to make sure it worked. I hung it on the side of an operating tank for several days to help seed the filter media with beneficial bacteria. To continue cycling the tank, I added a couple of sinking food pellets to serve as a source of ammonia. I also tossed in a small handful of gravel from the existing tank to help seed those beneficial bacteria even more. The filter is nice and quiet, and is creating a nice gentle current across the tank.

IMG_7699

I acquired some driftwood from an LFS. I knew it was going to be too big to fit, so I cut some of the end off with a coping saw. I then soaked it in dechlorinated water for a couple of days to make sure I leached out any excess tannins from the wood. When the water was all clear, I added it to the aquarium. I scrounged up some river stones from an old aquarium I have in storage to help add to the riverbank feel of the scene. I may tweak it a little more. I’m not entirely happy with the depth of the gravel, so I may change it once the plants are here.

IMG_7708

I changed my mind and decided to use a lid on the tank to help reduce evaporation and to retain some heat. I made the lid out of a leftover acrylic sheet I had on-hand from another project. I cut custom notches in the lid to fit the filter and the clamp for the light, so the lid sits flush on top of the tank.

Finally, I was able to locate (on eBay) one of the location-specific plants needed to make this a true biotope setup. I’ve ordered the first batch of plants (some Blyxa japonica, sometimes called the bamboo plant), and they should be here by Tuesday!

s-l500Running total:

  • Previous spent: $53.48
  • Driftwood: $12.00
  • Bamboo Plants: $6
  • New total: $71.48

Wish me luck finding the rest of my plant list. Finding the right species is trickier than I thought!

2 thoughts on “#TinyTankChallenge – Brian Update #1

  1. I used to be on Aquatic Plant Central forums and people there were super cool and always had trimmings to share. If you joined, posted some of the blog, and did a WTB, you might find what you’re looking for at a decent price! Otherwise, looking good! Love the wood!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

