Tiny Tank Trials and Tribulations

I’m having some challenge with my tiny tank. No, not managing water quality in such a small space. Not even the budget (although I think that will get blown due to the problems listed below). Other things.

Like the filter. I set up this nice filter, worked great, then I tried to add some crushed coral to help harden our very, very soft tap water. Well, that slowed the filter down to a trickle. I’m going to have to re-think how I’ve got this set up, maybe take out some of the coral? I’m not sure yet. It’s a project for next weekend.

filter

Then, the light. The one I had in the basement wasn’t working (it’s only about 20 years old) so I broke down and bought a new one. I very carefully chose one that was pictured on a framed glass tank.

Got it in today and, yeah, it’s not designed for a framed glass tank. I was able to carefully cut away some of the framing to fit the supports (with only 5 gallons I’m not worried about weakening the integrity of the tank by making the “frame” thinner). But then I tightened the screw that is important for bracing the light and…

crack

Dammit. The tank cracked. It’s not leaking (yet) but I guess I’m going to have to buy a new one.

Did I say dammit yet?

And, of course, this happens the day I get my plants. Which look great! I’m thrilled with how this looks but replacing the broken light and the broken tank will push me over budget.

tiny tank with plants

Should have bought one of those kits off Amazon…

Can I start over?

Leave a Reply

